Assignment #3 – The Identity Shadow Box

Click here to see a video

 

The different types of identities that our class studied in this unit is Race,Nationality,Ethnicity,Social Class,and Gender Identity.A Dominant Narrative is when people in position of privilege tell a story about people that do not have privilege.A Counter Narrative is a story or a perspective that people who are marginalized tell about themselves.Its important for me to say counter narratives about all the dominant narratives that people say about my identity because if I don’t counter all the Dominant Narratives about my identity then people in privilege would talk a lot about my identity in a bad way without me saying how my identity really is because I know my identity more than anyone does.

 

The pictures that I placed on the outside of my shadow box for my nationality there’s a lot of racism so I  put a hand that says “ we are all equal “ and a picture of separating people by race.Then pictures that describe my gender its a dominant narrative that states “ Girl’s can’t play football ” and my counter image is a girl playing in the leagues.I did the same thing finding a dominant narrative and a counter narrative for Ethnicity,race,and social class.One dominant narrative about my identity is people saying that “girl’s can’t play soccer” A counter narrative picture is a girl playing soccer in the leagues and that counter’s the dominant narrative.It’s important to respond to the dominant narrative about girl’s not being able to play soccer because girl’s do play soccer some girls play as same or even better than boys too sometimes like for example I play soccer so girls can play soccer if they wanted to because not because you’re a girl doesn’t mean you can’t play sports.

 

Four personal artifacts or pictures of my favorite mexican food, a mexican flag , a picture of my favorite kid picture and my favorite bracelet. The story behind the mexican flag is because my dad is from Mexico Durango so I decided to put the most common animals in Durango and it’s a really beautiful place to go and visit.The reason why i’m going to put pictures of my favorite sport witch is soccer because i love playing soccer its my passion.If I had to choose between every single sport i will stay with soccer I love and enjoy that sport.The personal artifacts or pictures reveal more about my identity than the dominant narratives is because the pictures you’re placing inside your box are all good things about my identity and things I know about my identity.Then Dominant narratives express the bad (negative ) things about my identity that people in more privilege than me say about my identity.

 

5 thoughts on “Assignment #3 – The Identity Shadow Box”

  1. Hello! I am Jacob Bass, a student at Fremont High School. The thing I liked the most about your Shadow Box is that you said that everybody is equal and I agree with that statement. A question I have about your work is, how did you become so in love with soccer? You did a outstanding job on this shadow box project.

  2. Hi, my name is Lorrenz and I am a student at Fremont High School. One thing I liked about your work is how you defended yourself against the dominant narrative. One question that I have about your work is that – why would you think people would make the sterotype: “girl’s not being able to play soccer”?

  3. Dear Socorro
    I really liked how you included both your culture and your favorite hobby into your shadow box. I also like the pictures you included on the outside of your box that represent how you don’t want to be impacted by racism or sexism anymore. I think that is powerful and many will agree. A question I have for you is, what are the dominant narratives of being Mexican?
    Thank you for sharing your shadow box!

  4. Hi, My name is sharifa and I am in MR.MUNIZ 4th period class. my team is Lazy Starfish.one thing i liked about your project is how you sporting girls for playing sports because most of the girls love sport but boy thing its only for them.one question I have is why you didn’t but inside the shadowbox more picture.but you still did a good job and thank you for sporting girls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *